The Fellow Forum

In the context of the “Fellow Forum”, former Fellows have the opportunity to organize workshops on promising, original, perhaps also risky questions. Envisaged here are neither strictly specialized disciplinary gatherings nor the continuation of the interactions of Fellows from one academic year. On the contrary: the aim is to activate the relationships among Fellows beyond “class” and disciplinary boundaries.

In accordance with the character of the Kolleg, these workshops should generally comprise no more than 12 active participants. We encourage the organizing former Fellow to suggest the participation not only of other former Fellows, but also of young, external researchers, who can thereby become acquainted with the Kolleg. These workshops are imaginable also as series of two or three successive events. They should be held at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Up to 8,000 euros are available for each workshop. Envisioned are three to four workshops per year. Fellows who would like to pursue a theme in this framework are invited to make a corresponding suggestion to the Wissenschaftskolleg. Daniel Schönpflug, who coordinates the activities of the Fellow Forum, is available as contact person for questions about submitting and implementing proposals. The suggestions received will be presented to a selection committee, which will meet for consultations once a year in late November.

Please send your suggestions for workshops and any questions about the procedure or implementation to vera.kempa_at_wiko-berlin.de.

Forum Committee

Kelly M. Askew, Associate Professor of Anthropology and Afroamerican / African Studies, University of Michigan

Sebastian Conrad, Professor of History, Freie Universität Berlin

Luca Giuliani, Rector of the Wissenschaftskolleg

Peter Hammerstein, President of the Fellows' Club and Professor at the Institute for Theoretical Biology, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Das Fellow Forum

Im Rahmen des „Fellow Forums“ erhalten frühere Fellows die Möglichkeit, Workshops zu vielversprechenden, originellen, vielleicht auch riskanten Fragestellungen zu veranstalten. Dabei ist weder an strikt fachlich-disziplinäre Treffen gedacht noch an die Fortsetzung von Interaktionen der Fellows eines Jahrgangs. Im Gegenteil: es sollen gerade die Beziehungen von Fellows über Jahrgangs- und Disziplinengrenzen hinweg aktiviert werden.

Diese Workshops sollten, dem Charakter des Kollegs entsprechend, in der Regel nicht mehr als 12 aktive Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer umfassen, darunter neben anderen früheren Fellows gerne auch auswärtige jüngere Forscherinnen und Forscher, die – von früheren Fellows für die Teilnahme vorgeschlagen – auf diese Weise mit dem Kolleg bekannt werden können. Diese Workshops sind auch als Reihe von zwei oder drei sukzessiven Veranstaltungen denkbar und sollen am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin stattfinden.

Für jeden Workshop stehen Mittel in Höhe von bis zu 8000 Euro zu Verfügung. Vorgesehen sind drei bis vier Workshops pro Jahr. Fellows, die in diesem Rahmen eine Fragestellung verfolgen möchten, sind eingeladen, dem Wissenschaftskolleg einen entsprechenden Vorschlag zu machen. Der Wissenschaftliche Koordinator Daniel Schönpflug steht als Ansprechpartner für Fragen der Antragstellung zur Verfügung. Die eingehenden Vorschläge werden Ende November einem Auswahlgremium zur Beurteilung vorgelegt. Die Anträge müssen bis zum 1. November eingereicht werden.

Bitte wenden Sie sich mit Fragen zum Verfahren bzw. zur Umsetzung an

Corina Pertschi

Workshops

Tel. +49 30 89001 158


Auswahlgremium

Kelly M. Askew, Professorin für Anthropologie und Afroamerikanische und Afrikanische Studien, Universität Michigan

Sebastian Conrad, Professor für Neuere Geschichte, Freie Universität Berlin

Luca Giuliani, Rektor des Wissenschaftskollegs

Peter Hammerstein, Präsident des Fellowclubs und Professor am Institute for Theoretical Biology, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin