Ernst Reuter Foundation for Advanced Study

Board of Trustees

Like the Wissenschaftskolleg itself, the Ernst Reuter Foundation for Advanced Study was set up in 1980. Its task is to procure the funds needed to operate the Wissenschaftskolleg. The Board of Trustees consists of the Wissenschaftkolleg's most important financial sponsors, the members of the Association of the Wissenschaftskolleg, and personalities of public life. The Board of Trustees contributes to the central personnel decisions of the Wissenschaftskolleg, especially in the appointment of the Rector and the Permanent Fellows.


  • The Governing Mayor of Berlin
    Michael Müller


  • The Federal Minister for Education and Research
    Anja Karliczek

Members appointed by the Members' Assembly of the Wissenschaftskolleg

  • Professor Dr. Hans-Christian Pape
    President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Bonn
  • Professor Dr. Martin Stratmann 
    President of the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science, Munich

 Co-opted Members

  • Sabine Adler
    Eastern Europe correspondent, Deutschlandradio Berlin
  • Dr. Carolin Emcke
    Journalist, Berlin
  • Dr. Dr. h.c. Manfred Gentz 
    President ICC Deutschland and Member of the Executive Board ICC, Paris
  • Renata Jungo Brüngger
    Member of the Board, Daimler AG, Stuttgart
  • Dr. Claudia Lücking-Michel, MP
    Chairwoman, The Association for Development Cooperation (AGEH), Cologne
  • Swen Schulz, MP
    German Bundestag, Berlin
  • Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Günter Stock
    Chair of the Executive Board, Einstein Foundation Berlin
  • Professor Dr. Andreas Voßkuhle
    President of the Federal Constitutional Court, Karlsruhe

Institutional donor members

  • Professor Dr. Martina Hirayama
    State Secretary for Education, Research and Innovation
    Swiss Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research, Bern